it’s called hoop dance…

3 Feb

…or hooping, because the term ‘hula hoop’ is owned by some toy company so hoopers can’t use it. Not that we’d want to. It makes for a generalization that we’re trying to get away from. Trust me. This is not your mama’s hula hooping. Watch the last video and you’ll see what I mean.

But first, for your viewing pleasure: my first hooping video. Well, the first one I’m willing to share. It’s eight minutes long, and the first half pretty much sums it up, in case you’re wondering…

Hey, did you notice my new house?! I just love that built-in hutch and those columns. Oh, and the extra tall ceilings which are great for hooping. Who needs a dining room? That’s my hooping room!

Now let me show you what I aspire to accomplish. This is Brecken, my favorite hooper. She handles the hoop like no one else…

Big difference between the two of us, I know. I’m planning on making a little video at the start of each month and putting it up to record my progress. Gotta enjoy the journey, right?

Who knew you could do so much crazy stuff with a hula hoop?! Oops. I mean a hoop.

3 Responses to “it’s called hoop dance…”

  1. bjpramann February 3, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    My first favorite part of your video is right when you turn on the camera and all you can hear is a child screaming in the background…my second favorite is about 2 1/2 minutes in when you kids are yelling again and the look on your face is just sort of “mommy is having mommy time, and lost eyeballs need to just wait until I’m done.” I think your hooping looks fantastic! Also, I adore Brecken ever since you first shared one of her video’s on facebook.

  2. ojazzy1 February 3, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Nice blog. Good video 🙂 Nice job handling that hoop! And cute house.

  3. Heather February 13, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    Look at you go momma! You are amazing… learning to hoop with 3 little ones and a new home. I admire you!

Leave a Reply

