for all the sucky parents like me

13 Feb

It’s last week. I’m laying on the couch, mulling over the day in my head, feeling like a parental failure. I’m beating myself up. I feel like a boring mom. Gasp! A loser my kids wont want to spend time with. Why can’t I be more fun? Why am I always so distracted? So busy?

Then my amazing little girl spies me from the stairs and laughs, commenting that I should go to bed if I’m tired. As she turns to leave she blows me away. Her feet treading the worn wood, I hear her happy words:

“I’m so glad I’m four, because I’ll need you for a long time.”

Baby Child, your heart is so beautiful. I cherish you and all the time I get with you. Thank you for your kind words and for your sweet love.

I’ll be here as long as you need me.

And for all you parents out there, your child loves you, even when you suck.

That’s the truth.

…….

Leave a Reply

