the perfect heartfelt gift… that also happens to be cheap

5 Apr

It is so easy to shop for me. Really.

Go to the used book store and buy me a $3 novel (two if you can swing it) or a $5 book on gardening, or head to WalMart and pick me out a $6 house plant. Any of these gifts would make me giddy, and you’d have enough change left over from your ten to get yourself a cup of coffee.

But I’ve noticed (rather painfully) that not everyone sees things the way I do. There are people out there who… who don’t like books or house plants. Gasp!

I know, I know. Do try and remain calm.

Everyone’s entitled to their own opinions, right?

So, I wonder, what are the heartfelt-but-still-cheap gifts that other people like?

Someone has ten bucks that they want to spend on you. What do you want them to get you? Or you have ten bucks to spend on someone. What are the gifts up your sleeve?

*******

8 Responses to “the perfect heartfelt gift… that also happens to be cheap”

  1. clayanddust April 7, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    Melanie says:: Okay…here’s mine: peanut butter cups and office supplies (like cute thumbtacks and anything Post-It brand).

  2. clayanddust April 7, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    I love that, Melanie! It’s so you. I should have known 🙂

  3. ojazzy1 April 7, 2012 at 9:36 pm #

    We go out to eat, it is a mutual gift.

  4. bjpramann April 8, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    I bake, or give away homemade jelly and salsa You can make a dozen jars of jelly with just a regular jug of natural or organic apple or grape juice and $2 pack of gelatin! That’s almost the same cost as most store bought jellies!

  5. clayanddust April 9, 2012 at 2:06 pm #

    Rachel Roger Hare says:: I like to buy the little sampler lotions at bath and body works. 🙂 cheap yet they still smell amazing.!

  6. clayanddust April 9, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    Great ideas. BJ I need to tackle the whole canning thing soon…

  7. Linsey Marie April 11, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    Candles, incense, anything smelly… Provided it is a good smell, of course. Nail polish, a yummy piece of chocolate, anything homemade. I am easy to please! 🙂

    • clayanddust April 12, 2012 at 12:56 pm #

      More great ideas 🙂 Candles and chocolate sound perfect to me!

Leave a Reply

