for the curious

12 Apr

There are odd little places in our new home that stir up the question, “What’s back there?” Small mahogany wood frames and swinging doors with brass nobs look out of place to the modern eye where they sit on the walls. One upstairs and one down, I walked through the house with the realtor and wondered what they could be. They’re not very big, and the realtor took no notice of them, pointing out instead the staircase or the wooden floors, but I had to take a peek inside: Old electrical I don’t even recognize, remnants of the past this 100 year-old house boasts of.

Another spot in the kitchen: a slender cabinet door on the island that leads to… nothing. It’s only there for design. And so I had an idea. Fill these void spaces with a little art and a quote on curiosity. A treasure, a reward, for anyone who finds it.

I started looking at quotes on curiosity and decided to put them up here as a way to keep track of my favorites and share them as well. Let me know which ones are your favorites!

A sense of curiosity is nature’s original school of education.
Smiley Blanton

Curiosity is the very basis of education and if you tell me that curiosity killed the cat, I say only the cat died nobly.
Arnold Edinborough

Curiosity will conquer fear even more than bravery will.
James Stephens

Free curiosity is of more value than harsh discipline.
Saint Augustine of Hippo

I have no special talents. I am only passionately curious.
Albert Einstein

I think, at a child’s birth, if a mother could ask a fairy godmother to endow it with the most useful gift, that gift should be curiosity.  Eleanor Roosevelt

Thoughts? Favorites?

*******

6 Responses to “for the curious”

  1. Dale April 12, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    Fun. In the future anyone who removes one of our light switch panels will get a similar suprise.
    http://blog.makezine.com/2010/12/02/make-projects-light-switch-time-c/

    • clayanddust April 13, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

      Wow, I want to do that! What a fun idea.

  2. bjpramann April 12, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    I like Arnold Edinborough’s. My own favorite – “Curiosity killed the cat, Satisfaction brought it back!” There is no feeling of complete bliss like knowing born of purposed discovery.

    • clayanddust April 13, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

      Agreed!

  3. Tom April 12, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    Curiosity is why I ran a sowing needle through my finger trying to figure out how the machine worked and Curiositywas how I first met electricity when I plugged a cut cord into an outlet thinking I would then be able to see the electricity come out the cut end.
    If it wasn’t for Curiosity I would have been a very boring child – Dad

    • clayanddust April 13, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

      Ha, ha. Oh, and remeber the one about following a flying squirrel way up into a tree, making a jump to grab onto the next branch, and then not being able to get back down later? You couldn’t make the drop down to the branch safetly enough, and by the time it started getting dark out I think you decided to hug the tree and slide down. You got scratched up and your clothes were a mess, but you survived 🙂 Oh, and the one about trying to carry a bee all the way to school… You should write a book about your childhood!

Leave a Reply

