bring on the cold

19 Sep

It’s been getting cold at nights. When I woke up this morning and padded down to the tile floor in my kitchen, I remembered that I should have bought slippers. I reached for a flannel instead.

I wasn’t really surprised until I open the back door to let the dog out and a gust of wind hit me.

Even the dog thought it was cold; He wanted in sooner than normal.

Me and the kids are gonna hunker down today. I just got back from a trip, running to catch flights, lugging around backpacks that had been weighted down with books, racing through endless terminals with a five-year-old in tow. Is there an end to the Regan airport, really?

Speaking of books, I read the first of the Harry Potter’s. It was so fantastic. Of course people love it so much. It has everything going for it. Harry makes the perfect lead character: A humble hero who is just as ‘normal’ and unlikely as the rest of us. Voldemort is pure evil and has me asking question after question, wondering what’s going to happen. And then there’s this terrific supporting cast that I can’t help but love. Add to all that the world that Rowling created… curiosity and wonder followed me though every page.

I’ll start the second book soon, but not until I finish Sense and Sensibility which I am surprised to say I’m loving. The first two chapters were hard, but by the third I’d gotten the hang of it.

On the list after that is The Good Thief by Hannah Tinti, and Captain Blood and Scaramouche both by Rafael Sabatini.

Bring on the cold.

One Response to “bring on the cold”

  1. The Book Wheel September 19, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    I love the cold! I live in NC and today was gray and looked like a snow day, but of course there was no snow. Very disappointing!

Leave a Reply

