ride a moose and write a cohesive novel / life goals

22 Sep

Check. This. Out.

I am crazy about this photo. That’s Teddy-freaking-Roosevelt! Why was this not in any of my text books? They don’t think this would get students attention? Leave them wanting to know more? Are they trying to stamp out bravery, and spontaneity, and whimsy? Okay, I’ll digress here…

Now, this is the internet, and I’m not totally naive, but someone left a comment under this photo about riding wild moose while they swim. He said that when they’re in water, if you swim over to them and climb on their backs there’s not much they can do about it. You’d just better get off before they’re feet hit bottom. Seems legit. Kind of. I mean, maybe It’d work…

Note to self: If you ever see a moose swimming in the water, swim over and jump on. This is important.

Anyway, here’s what I’m up to this weekend, unless, of course, I happen to see a moose go swimming by:

Trying to organize, plan, and make sense of my novel. Artist will understand what I’m going through here: I’ve been deep in this story for nine months now. Translate that to painting, and I’ve been sweeping paint onto a canvas for hours. My mind has been swimming around in this creative high, I’ve been lost to the world, and I don’t know where the time has gone. Suddenly, I break from my daze and step back. Hmm. It doesn’t look the way I thought it did, despite the fact that I’ve been staring at it for hours on end. My brain struggles to make sense of it. My mind is mush. What would this look like to someone seeing it for the first time? Does it make sense?

At this point, the painter would preform a little trick to help her brain out: She would turn her painting upside down. Volia! Her brain registers it differently, and she can view it with “fresh” eyes, seeing exactly what it needs.

I know, all you non-artsy people are thinking I’m nuts, but it’s true. The mind gets lazy or cluttered or something, and it needs help to see what it’s created as it really is. That’s what I’m trying to do with my story right now. Unfortunately, turning it upside-down doesn’t help. I’ve tried. So I’m writing out note cards for every little event and lining them up on my living room floor. I’ll tell you if it works.

Any writers out there have other tricks?

*******

(Btw, sorry for all the posts lately. I’m sure I’ll go back into blogger hibernation soon.)

One Response to “ride a moose and write a cohesive novel / life goals”

  1. Tom September 23, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Ernest Gaines would write his outline and scenes on index cards and arrange them on a long table. By doing so I believe he was able to see the progression of his novel, the big picture if you will, and move things around to find the right flow.
    Keep plugging away. You will get it.

Leave a Reply

