conversations with dad

28 Sep

I’m having conversations with my Dad in my head. I think that’s a good sign he needs to call me when he has a few minutes so we can talk. What are we talking about? Writing.

You see, it’s my Dad’s fault that I’m like this. When I was little, he would sit on a chair by my bed and read me Hemingway before I fell asleep. Some nights, he’d bring in a pad of paper and a pen so we could write poetry together. When I wrote a story in 2nd grade about a magical orca, he read it with enthusiasm and went on about it like it had a Calldecott medal stamped on the front.

These days, he calls me up and we talk about what we’re writing or what we should be writing, what we’re reading and what we want to read, the highs, the lows, the brilliant bits, the challenges, our hopes and frustrations. It’s nice, because not many people you meet realize what it is to sit down and write. They think it sounds more like a hobby than actual work. They don’t get how torturous it is, and few people understand me when I say that sticking with my novel has been the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

But my Dad get’s it. So does our pal Hemingway…

I know, you non-writers think we’re being melodramatic. If that’s you, then I challenge you to NaNoWriMo this November. Finish that and we can talk about it again.

Anyway, that’s it, I guess. I need to get back to bleeding, and my Dad will be calling soon.

*******

2 Responses to “conversations with dad”

  1. purposethroughthepain September 28, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Love this one, I know what you mean, I feel that way a lot about writing music or creating artwork. You’re a great writer keep going! And say hi to your dad for me… I just got an image of him saying “DUSTIN!” with the angry eyes and it made me laugh. Love you!

    • clayanddust October 10, 2012 at 6:14 pm #

      Ha ha! The man is Sicilian, don’t forget. And I inherited those angry eyes as well. Just ask my kids 🙂

Leave a Reply

