writing plans

10 Oct

Every few months I sit dow and make a writing plan. This is about as organized as I get. I look at my last plan, see where I hit the mark and where I didn’t, pin point what I feel was realistic and what wasn’t, yada, yada, yada.

It’s really pretty fun.

Last night I wrote up a new plan, and decided to put it up here. That way I have a record of it (I lost my last plan) and some accountability. This is what I have so far:

October > Continue revising The Warrior (book one) and get it to the best possible place before November. Send Oliver’s Idea (my children’s book) to 20 publishers. Write up and outline for The Prince (book two).

November > NANOWRIMO! Write the 1st draft of The Prince (book two).

December > Breath. Go back to The Warrior, spend one week revising, then print it. Work like mad getting it to next draft stage. Send Oliver’s Idea out to 40 publishers.

January > Start sending The Warrior out to a select few for feedback.

February, March, April > Get The Warrior to final draft stage (or at least FIRST final draft stage).

May… send The Warrior out to agents.

So, there it is. I don’t know how well I’ll stick to it. I’m all for plans until they start getting in the way. For example, I’m not sure I want to send The Warrior out to agents until I have a good outline made up for The Prophesy (book three). I’m also not sure it I can write The Prince over November and then not touch it all winter. The thing is, I’ve never done this before. I’m learning as I go and staying flexible. I just also need to stay focused and keep things moving forward. What a balance it is.

Any writers out there know what I’m talking about? How do you get your stuff done?

*******

 

2 Responses to “writing plans”

  1. purposethroughthepain October 10, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    This is making me excited to read your future books…you can do it!

  2. bjpramann October 10, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    That sounds fantastic! I make these too, =)

Leave a Reply

