the boldness to let our art be seen

10 Dec

151715081166539164_ERbJ5n2Z_c

If I’m not creating something, I feel as good as dead. To create is to remind myself of the life, not only around me, but in me. So I create everyday. Sometimes it’s a haiku. Sometimes I’m writing scene after scene in a novel. Other times it’s playing the few songs I can pound out on the piano, or singing, or dancing, or drawing, or hula hooping. Whatever.

For me, the hard part comes in the sharing. In my heart I see sharing our creations as vital to mankind. The world needs our art. Really needs it, and I believe that. But I pour my heart and soul into my art which makes it a very difficult thing for me to offer up to others.

Other artists seem to do it so easily. I have friends and family who don’t blink an eye as they pass their work around to be surely judged. For me it’s like pulling teeth. I guess I care too much about what others think.

My Dad gave me some really good advice last week when I was trying to decide if I was going to post my vlog or not. He said, “Dustin, don’t take yourself so seriously!” That really rang true for me, so I posted it and had a lot of fun. And I’m not taking myself seriously when it comes to vlogging which gives me a freedom there. How great would it be if I applied that same simple concept in other areas of my life?

I’m just rambling here. No pretty bow on this post. Sorry.

But I can tell you what I’m doing about my insecurities in sharing my work with others: I’m sharing it anyway. I’m going to send my Dad my messy novel tomorrow and even catch myself pressing the send button in a vlog. Then I’ll post the vlog on Wednesday. And I won’t take myself too seriously the whole time 🙂

And because we all know how much I like quotes, here are some I couldn’t agree with more:

“Being a writer is like standing naked in the High Street hoping people won’t find you ridiculous.” Graham Storrs

“Whether or not you write well, write bravely.” Bill Stout

“Talent is helpful in writing, but guts are absolutely essential.” JESSAMYN WEST

“I have written a great many stories and I still don’t know how to go about it except to write it and take my chances.” John Steinbeck

147774431494437425_otn5DfnK_c

Leave a Reply

