program CANCELED

12 Dec

It’s week two of Wednesday Coffee With Dustin, and I’m cancelling. Sorry. Computer trouble. I should be up again next week.

In the mean time, I can’t even send my dad my story like I promised because my email account has gone crazy. (Sorry, Dad!)

At this point you guys are probably thinking that I’m a sissy and totally chickening out on everything I said I was going to do, BUT THAT IS NOT THE CASE! To prove it to you, here is some of my story. I’m going to SHARE it with you…

*******

“You’re what?” He didn’t try to hide his disapproval.

“You heard it fine the first time,” said the Queen, her eyes still on the papers stretched out in front of her. “I’m bringing her up from the dungeon. Giving her a room.”

He looked over his shoulder. When he was sure there were only guards present, he continued.“But why?”

The Queen brought her eyes up to his. “Sit down, Jace.”

He moved into the chair next to her, and she pushed the papers aside.

“I should have had this conversation with you and Jael at the same time so I could avoid going through it all again.”

“You told Jael about this before me?”

“Yes. You were out on your horse.” She studied his face. Had he smiled at all since the girl had been discovered? “It’s easier to track down people who keep their feet on the ground, you know.”

He looked over his shoulder again. “Why are you giving her a room?”

“I want her up here with us. I want to be able to talk with her and watch her. We’ll keep her well secured, take no chances, but I’ve too many questions about her to keep her down in the dungeons.”

Jace shook his head. “Twelve days ago, you were going to have her killed. It was the most logical thing to do. And now, here you are, giving her a room in your palace. Do you know what you’re doing?”

The Queen sighed and her shoulders fell. “We’ll be careful. Guards, shooters, chains, dogs, whatever we can think of. Besides, we’ve already planted the bead in her. There’s no danger in bringing her up, and we’ll get more questions answered. Jace,” she paused. “I have to do it.”

*******

Jace is the Queen’s son, by-the-way. They’re talking about Kaia, a warrior prophesied to be the ruin of their kingdom. But the Queen has her reasons for being interested in her… Now that’s all you get. Except I’ll repost my story teaser one more time, just in case you are wondering what the heck is going on:

Mild, meek, and timid. Yet they call her The Warrior.

Prophesied at the age of two to one day bring Chaldor great victory over their enemy, Kaia has grown up in the Queen’s palace, a slave to the art of combat. But she does not fit her role in size nor spirit, much to the Queen’s dismay. When Kaia is captured by the very people she’s been training to defeat, everyone holds their breath.

With the fate of two kingdoms resting in her shy hands, all eyes are on Kaia.

And she is going to surprise them all.

So, I hope you agree I’m not being a total whimp. Dad, you’ll get my story soon!

 

 

3 Responses to “program CANCELED”

  1. earth2laurag December 12, 2012 at 8:27 pm #

    I absolutely love this post.. you inspire me! Your story sounds amazing and I can’t wait to read it all!
    btw in total random news I just got a wordpress blog too.. fun fun!

    • clayanddust December 12, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

      I was just over there and left a comment the same time you were leaving yours. Ha ha. Must be quiet time for the mamas 😉

  2. Tom Demma December 13, 2012 at 3:25 am #

    Sorry about your vlog. I know about computer trouble; had my own and couldn’t vlog. I like your story and look forward to reading the whole thing.
    Love, Dad

Leave a Reply

