one year with kaia and jace

17 Dec

I thought them up as a teenager when I would spend hours and hours daydreaming and coming up with stories in my head. I don’t know what I called them back then; I can’t remember. I also can’t remember all the things I imagined happening to them along the way.

At some point, I mostly forgot about them. Then, one year ago, they popped back into my mind and grabbed hold of my thoughts. I couldn’t remember much of their story, just the basic beginning and end I’d come up with eight years before, give or take, and for three days my mind obsessed with that until I felt utterly insane.

So I abandoned the story I had been working on and dove into theirs, no outline, no plans, just two characters who insisted I write about them. I gave them the names Kaia and Jace and have now spent a year with them.

It’s strange, I know, but it feels like they’ve grown into something real. I know them like they’re alive and breathing. Sometimes it takes me by surprise that others don’t.

And their impact in my life has been a substantial one. I could write a whole post on that alone. How they’ve helped me to grab hold of writing and not quit, the things they’ve taught me, the places their story has lead me to. Without them, my past year would look drastically different, and I would be different too.

Imagination is such a powerful thing.

I wrote the first draft in a month and a half, and all those others months have been spent trying to make something of that initial draft. I also took a month to write the first draft of the second book in the series, which mean it’s been nine and a half months of revising the first book.

I can get a little discouraged about that, feeling like I should be further along then I am, but then I remember what a wonderful time I’ve had. I also remember how neat this time has been, holding these characters inside of me like my own little secret that I love that no one else gets to know yet.

That will change soon, and I look forward to it. Eventually, I want everyone to know them… but for now I’m just thankful that I get to.

So, here’s to Kaia and Jace who have been in my thoughts everyday for the past year. And here is to the next year as they continue to stay strong in my mind while going out and penetrating the minds of others as well.

May they go far.

*******

Leave a Reply

