storytelling through haikus

10 Feb

Chuck Wendig over at Terrible Minds issued a little haiku competition last week that I had to get in on. You know I love my haikus. The challenge was to tell a story weaving three haikus together.

Normally when I write a haiku I stay flexible with the syllables, not getting religious about the 5-7-5 pattern, but Chuck wanted us to keep to it, so I did. Supposing I can count.

Here’s my story:

Evil moves eastward
And the farmers who love peace
Become warriors

She hides among them
A girl with the heart of ten
To fight alongside

And though she dies, pierced,
On a field green and crimson
Her nation lives on

*Side note : this haiku says nothing about the book I’m working on. It’s a different story entirely.*

Leave a Reply

