no. say it, writers

4 Mar

Sorry. The answer is no. I can’t right now.

This is my go-to response for most of the questions I’ve been getting lately.

“Wanna join the new group we’ve started?”

No.

“Would you like to get together for-“

No.

“I heard about this class being offered-“

No.

If you have gotten or if you get this response from me, please don’t feel bad. I’m rejecting everyone’s invitations equally. I am an equal opportunity rejecter.

You see, I’ve got plans, and I’m sticking to them. I’m sending my story out to a few people for feedback on the 15th. In an effort to not send anyone total crap, I’m working like mad to get The Warrior as good as I can get it before then. In May I’ll start sending it out to agents.

None of this is very far away, yet my to-do list grows no matter how many things I cross off.

So my answer to most questions has become ‘no’. I know my work doesn’t look like work to most people, but it’s work to me, and none of it will get done without me, well, working on it.

We writers need to take J.K. Rowling’s advice:

“Be ruthless about protecting writing days, i.e., do not cave in to endless requests to have “essential” and “long overdue” meetings on those days.  The funny thing is that, although writing has been my actual job for several years now, I still seem to have to fight for time in which to do it.  Some people do not seem to grasp that I still have to sit down in peace and write the books, apparently believing that they pop up like mushrooms without my connivance.  I must therefore guard the time allotted to writing as a Hungarian Horntail guards its firstborn egg.”

So, I’m sorry, but the answer is no.

*******

3 Responses to “no. say it, writers”

  1. Tom Demma (Dad) March 4, 2013 at 4:08 pm #

    Well, I know first hand that you are serious, because you told me “NO” twice yesterday. And I am your Dad. I know you are serious and you have set deadlines for yourself and I respect that.
    You won’t have to tell me “NO” again. Go For It!!
    Love, (rejected) Dad

    • clayanddust March 4, 2013 at 4:17 pm #

      Those two things sounded so fun, too. *Sigh*. If you find anything smaller, maybe just a one poem competition or something, let me know. That would be a nice break!
      Love, (very sorry) Dut

  2. earth2laurag March 4, 2013 at 5:07 pm #

    I understand completely and have to say that so often too.. for other reasons as well as writing. (Living so far away, sick kids, just not enough time/energy, etc) DON’T feel guilty for saying NO. If people make you feel bad for that,.. that’s just horrible of them.. You do what is best for YOU and your family!

    EXCEPT that you can;t say no to me for girl’s night out. I INSIST and will make you go BY FORCE If I have to. lol! All writers need a break sometime. 😉 🙂 Good luck with your writing!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

