resolutions in writing

11 Dec

Resolving to write in the coming year is a given for me. I have to write, so I like to narrow in and break it into smaller goals:

  • I want to finish edits on my current work-in-process.
  • I want to finish the first draft of a book I have in mind, supposing things work out for that to happen (just trust me on that one).
  • I want to write some poetry.

Notice how I only said “I want to write some poetry”? Not a poem a day, or a week, or even a month? That was intentional. Some resolutions are better left vague.

I started a poetry blog so I had a place to collect and share them. Try as I may, the artist in me can’t help but want to share the things I write. Is this just the nature of art? The introvert in me is still trying to adjust.

My other two resolutions are being carried over from last year. They are THE BIGGIES:

  • Get an agent
  • Get a book deal

I’ll carry these two resolutions over for as many years as it takes!

But I’m hoping that this is my year πŸ˜‰

Are you resolving to write in 2015?

*******

Next up is Resolutions at Random

2 Responses to “resolutions in writing”

  1. laurigirl December 11, 2014 at 6:11 pm #

    Love this. I am definitely resolving to write. πŸ˜‰ But you knew that already. And I have the feeling this year will bring big things for you. Just saying.

  2. humbleadoration December 24, 2014 at 3:21 am #

    I’m not the writer in our family, but Jason wants to finish his short story series for children and develop the discipline of writing daily.We were talking about our 10 year goals, and his included getting published. We definitely need to work out the short term goals to achieve that one!

Leave a Reply

