the benifits of a continuous practice

21 Mar

IMG_5579

Recently, I stated using Instagram to document my #continuouspractice. The basic idea is to pick something you want to practice and stick with it for 100 days, documenting as you go along. I picked writing, which I first felt was a little silly since I’m already writing nearly everyday as it is. Still. I think, more than anything, I wanted to give it a go so I could see all my minutes, hours, and days building in this new format. It’s been a way for me to look back and see that, wow, this is all adding up. I’m devoted af, and it’s creating whole, complete, magnificent works.

IMG_5616

And so, every day, I snap a picture of my writing time. Later I post the pic to Instagram and to a private writing group I’m a part of on Facebook where we keep a daily #continuouspractice thread.

IMG_5678

The practice has helped me to focus in on my work more so than I was without it. I’ve seen how my days add up, and so I try to use them to the fullest. I finished editing my WIP quicker than I expected. Now I’m using my practice to work up the next big idea as well as set time aside for this little ol’ blog of mine.

IMG_5816

Feel free to follow me on Instagram for more, and don’t hesitate to jump into the wonderful world of #continuouspractice, whatever your practice may be.

IMG_5840

 

Happy writing!

2 Responses to “the benifits of a continuous practice”

  1. humbleadoration March 21, 2016 at 10:43 pm #

    I’ve been wondering how your writing is going. I’m glad to hear you are keeping at it and might start blogging again!

    • ohdustin March 23, 2016 at 7:36 pm #

      Yes. I haven’t talked much about my writing lately, but I’ve never stopped! And I’m looking forward to getting back to this blog. The break was good. I was focusing on other things. Now it’s time to get settled back in here 🙂

Leave a Reply

